Layton ServiceDesk - Installation - Migration - Application Only

From Layton Support
Jump to: navigation, search

Btn back up.png Back to Contents

Btn back up.png Back to Migration

Contents

Overview

This procedure would be used when you need to move the application to a new server, but leave the database on the existing SQL server. The process is to install the same version as Live on the destination server, then update. For a simplified procedure to directly install the latest version on the destination server, please see this article.

We highly recommend that you do not commit to the migrated installation until you are sure that the application is working without issues.

Procedure

Check Version

  1. Check the application version on your live installation (Live).
  2. Check here for the latest version.
  3. If you are not running the latest version on your source installation, please contact Support for the version you are running. You will be provided with a link to a full version for use in the below procedures. Note that this may be earlier than Live, because not every update release had an accompanying Full version. In this case, you will be installing the next-lowest Full version, followed by the same version as Live.

Backup

  1. Back up the existing application installation directory by copying it to a location on the destination server. The default path is: C:\Program Files (x86)\Layton Technology\Layton ServiceDesk\
  2. In Layton ServiceDesk:
    1. Go to Administration > System Settings > Email Server Settings.
    2. Record the contents of all the fields. This is a precautionary step in case they need to be re-entered.
    3. Disable both Auto Import Email Server Settings so that the test installation doesn't hijack incoming mail.
  3. In Management Studio:
    1. Back up your database.
    2. Restore the backup of your database with a different name, for testing.

Preparation

  1. Check your destination server against the System Requirements.
  2. Run your destination server through the Pre-Installation Procedure.

Installation

  1. Install as per New Installation.
  2. When the Database Tool opens, choose Connect to an existing database and point it to your test database.

Update to Same Version as Live

  1. If the full version you installed was earlier than Live, immediately update to the same version as Live, using the Update installer provided by Support.

Restore Application Data

  1. From the backup made in the Preparation steps, copy the files to the same location on the destination server.
    • Application Images\: Custom images added to any forms in Form Design
    • HB_Data\ChangeAttach\: File attachments for Changes
    • HB_Data\Editor_Folder\Image\: User images added to email bodies configured in Email Settings & Bodies
    • HB_Data\EmailBodies\: Email notifications configured in Email Settings & Bodies
    • HB_Data\MailIn\: File attachments from emails in the Incoming email queue
    • HB_Data\ProblemAttach\: File attachments for Problems
    • HB_Data\RequestAttach\: File attachments for Requests
    • HB_Data\LogFiles\: Application log files.

Testing

  1. Test the installation by logging in, creating a request, sending an email, general use. If there is an issue, contact Support for assistance. Do not continue until the issue is resolved.

Configuration

  1. Follow this procedure to remap the application support path.
  2. Launch Database Tool (DBTool.exe), choose Connect to an existing database and point it to your live database.

Decommission Old Application

  1. On the old server, uninstall Layton ServiceDesk using Programs and Features.
  2. Open Internet Information Services (IIS) Manager.
    1. In Application Pools, delete LaytonServiceDeskAppPool.
    2. In Sites > Default Website, delete the virtual directory LaytonServiceDesk.
  3. Open the Windows Services console.
  4. Check to see if the LaytonServiceDesk service exists. If it does, open a command prompt and run this command to remove it:

    sc delete LaytonServiceDesk

    If the service becomes marked for deletion but hasn't been removed, restart the server and check that the service has been removed.

  5. Delete the folder Layton Technology in C:\Program Files\.

Update to Latest Version

  1. If you are not running the latest version, update as soon as possible. Refer to the latest release notes for details.

Btn back up.png Back to Migration

Btn back up.png Back to Contents

Personal tools
Namespaces

Variants
Actions
Main Page
Online User Guides
General Support
Release Notes
Toolbox